Home > Board of Directors

FRPC’s work is supervised by its Board of Directors, who are elected each year by its members.

FRPC’s Board of Directors (in alphabetical order)

Lew Auerbach

Lew’s former positions include the following:  Advisor, CRTC; producer of Ideas at CBC radio; producer at TV Ontario; Advisor, Science Council of Canada; Director of Communications, National Parole Board, and Director, Auditor General of Canada (where among other things, he led the first audit of Senate in 1991!).

In addition to acting as a consultant to unions and government on accountability, performance, P’3s and other issues, Lew has also served as President or Board Chair of local non-profits — Tamir, (housing for developmentally disabled); Options Bytown (supportive housing for otherwise homeless); and the Harvard Club of Ottawa.

Lew has also served on various boards including Odyssey Theatre, and the Hospice at Maycourt.  He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Great Canadian Theatre Company,  Treasurer at Oxfam Canada, and the representative from Canada on the  Board of Directors of the Harvard Alumni Association.

Geneviève Bonin

Dr. Geneviève A. Bonin is an Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa. She has been involved in various facets of radio from practice to policy since the late 1990s. Today, her passion for this medium continues through her teaching and research. Her current Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada funded projects include “Evaluating the Impact of Technology and Funding on Community Radio in Canada,”  “Mapping the Professional Identity and Worldviews of Canadian Journalists” and “The Future of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Broadcasting: Conversation and Convergence.”

Sjef Frenken, Chairperson 

Sjef (pronounced, ‘chef’) Frenken worked in private radio in Ottawa and Toronto after graduating from Ryerson.  He was a member of the CRTC’s staff from 1971 to 1995, and held several management positions, including director of broadcasting policy, while working on a wide range of broadcasting policy files.  Since retiring from the Commission he has taught at the University of Ottawa, and worked as a consultant.

Al MacKay

Al MacKay is a forty-five year veteran of the broadcast industry.  He has been a radio and television broadcast journalist, and was a vice-president and station manager during a 25 year career at CJOH Television in Ottawa. He also ran CPAC, the cable public affairs channel, for three years before joining Judith Maxwell’s think tank – Canadian Policy Research Networks (CPRN) – as vice-president, Operations.  Mr. MacKay was the primary consultant in developing, on behalf of the industry, its Code for Violence in Television Programming, its Program Rating System, and the on-screen icons and viewer advisories used by all programming services to inform viewers about the content of the program about to be aired.

Robert Soucy

Robert Soucy (B.A, B.Com. University of Ottawa) is a vested member of the American Federation of Musicians following a career as a performer and composer for film and television productions.

As the Director of the Canadian Audiovisual Certification Office (CAVCO) in the Department of Canadian Heritage, he participated in the design and led the implementation of two federal tax credit programs in support of the Canadian film and television production industry. In that capacity, he also spoke at a number of national and international panels about Canadian tax incentives and the administration of the Canadian content system.

Robert currently sits on the board of the Canadian Folk Music Awards.

John Stevenson, Vice-Chairperson

A long-time community broadcaster, John is a founder and past president of the Community Radio Fund of Canada.  John is currently a Ph.D. researcher at the University of Toronto iSchool, where he is mapping Google’s global technological infrastructure and its influence on the company’s strategy on network neutrality.